The Alabama Boater Education Card
Proof that you have successfully completed the Alabama Marine Police Division–approved boating safety course
To get your own Alabama boating card, just complete this Alabama online boating license course.
Pay Only When You Pass
unlimited exam attempts
Who needs the Boater Education Card?
It’s the Law!
An Alabama boater safety certification is required for all persons 12 years of age and older who operate a motorized vessel on Alabama waters. The boating license must be in the operator’s possession at all times while on the water.
The certification is not required for operators who:
- have a valid U.S. Coast Guard Motorboat Operator's License, or…
- submit a valid certificate of successful completion of an Alabama Marine Police Division-approved safe boating course, or…
- were born before April 28, 1954.
Even if not required by law to get the Alabama boating license, many boaters take the boat safety course in order to save on their PWC or boat insurance.
You Must Carry the Card
Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer.
All states that have mandatory boater education requirements will accept the Alabama Boating Course Certificate of Completion. Likewise, Alabama will accept boating education cards that are issued by states that meet NASBLA requirements.
Is the Alabama Boating Course Certificate of Completion the same as a Boating License?
The Alabama Boating Course Certificate of Completion is proof that you have successfully completed an approved boating safety course. After passing the course, you’ll take your Alabama Boating Course Certificate of Completion to your Department of Public Safety office to receive your Alabama Boating License.
I do not have a driver’s license. Can I still get the Alabama Boater Education Card?
Yes. You are not required to have a state driver’s license in order to obtain a Boater Education Card.
How do I get a card?
Get your card in 3 easy steps.
Complete the Course
Step One: Register for the course, study the free online course material, and pass the Alabama Boating License Certification Exam. (If you don’t pass on the first try, don’t worry. Keep taking the Boating License Certification Exam for free until you pass.)
Wait for Certificate
Step Two: After passing and paying the $29.50 course fee, you’ll receive your official Alabama Boating Course Certificate of Completion by mail within 2-3 weeks.
Go to DPS, Get the “V”
Step Three: go to the Department of Public Safety Driver’s License Examining Office in their county of residence and present the Boating Course Certificate of Completion and have the “V” endorsement placed your driver’s license. (If you don’t have an automobile driver’s license, a “Vessel Only” license will be issued.) You’ll pay an additional one-time application fee of $5, plus a $23.50 issuance fee for the license.
How do I get a replacement card?
If your card was lost, stolen, destroyed, or if your legal name has been changed, you may apply for a replacement card for a $5 fee.
How to Apply
Send a written request* and your $5 fee (payable by cash, certified check or money order) to:
Alabama Marine Police Division
64 North Union Street
Montgomery, AL 36130
(334) 242-3683 or 1-800-272-7930
*In the written request please include:
- Social Security Number or birthdate
- Date of class (if known; approximate year of class if date not known)
- Location of class
- Your mailing address
You may contact Katrina Fortson with the Alabama Marine Police at firstname.lastname@example.org, (334) 353-7545 or 1-800-272-7930 or Lisa Miles at email@example.com (334) 242-3683 or 1-800-272-7930 with questions on certificates or to verify information on certification database.
How do I get my state boating license?
You may have heard that you need the Alabama Boat License to operate your boat, but what you really need is the Alabama Boating Course Certificate of Completion. You can get the Alabama Boating Course Certificate of Completion by taking this Boat License Safety course at boat-ed.com. Find out if you need the card.
Did you lose your card? Replace it here.
Got the Card? Get the Handbook
Boat Alabama Certification Manual, developed for Alabama Marine Police Division and available online only at boat-ed.com
For New and Experienced Alabama Boaters
Alabama Marine Police Division
64 N. Union Street
Montgomery, Alabama 36130