The Arizona Boater Education Card
Proof that you have successfully completed the Arizona Game and Fish Department–approved boating safety course
To get your own Arizona boating card, just complete this Arizona online boating license course.
Pay Only When You Pass
unlimited exam attempts
Who needs the Boater Education Card?
It’s the Law!
Per Arizona law, no one under the age of 12 may operate a motor powered vessel over 8 horsepower unless:
- An emergency exists or...
- Another person at least 18 years of age is on board
Even though not required in Arizona, many boaters take the boat safety course in order to save on insurance or for boating in other states that require a boating license.
Do your part to make boating in Arizona a safe, enjoyable pastime! Become an educated, responsible boater by completing the Boat Arizona course and practice what you learn.
You Must Carry the Card
Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer.
All states that have mandatory boater education requirements will accept the Arizona Boater Education Certificate. Likewise, Arizona will accept boating education cards that are issued by states that meet NASBLA requirements.
Is the Boating Card the same as a Boating License?
The Arizona Boater Education Card is proof that you have successfully completed an approved boating safety course. Since the boater education card does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called the Arizona Boating License.
I do not have a driver’s license. Can I still get the Arizona Boater Education Card?
Yes. You are not required to have a state driver’s license in order to obtain a Boater Education Card.
How do I get a card?
Get your card in 3 easy steps.
Complete the Course
Step One: Register for the course, study the free online course material, and pass the Arizona Certification Exam. (If you don’t pass on the first try, don’t worry. Keep taking the Certification Exam for free until you pass.)
Print Temporary Certificate
Step Two: After passing and paying the $29.50 course fee, you’ll instantly print out a temporary certificate, which is your temporary operating permit to operate legally on Arizona waters while you wait for your permanent card to arrive.
Get on the Water!
Step Three: Your Arizona Boater Education Card will arrive in the mail in 8-10 business days. While waiting, your temporary certificate (the Temporary Boater Education Certificate) you printed in Step Two will serve as your proof to legally operate on Arizona waters.
How do I get a replacement card?
If your card was lost, stolen, destroyed, or if your legal name has been changed, you may apply for a replacement card for a $10 fee.
To receive a replacement card or obtain a duplicate Arizona Boater Education Certificate, mail the request with a check for $10 payable to Boat Arizona, to:
14086 Proton Road
Dallas, TX 75244
Be sure to include the student’s full name and date of birth in the mailed request for a duplicate card. You may also phone Customer Service to request the duplicate and pay by credit card. You may reach us by phone at 800-830-2268 (toll-free) or 214-351-0461. Our office hours are 8:30 to 5:30 Central Time, Monday through Friday, with extended hours during late spring and summer season.
How do I get my state boating license?
You may have heard that you need the Arizona Boat License to operate your boat, but what you really need is the Arizona Boater Education Certificate. You can get the Arizona Boater Education Certificate by taking this Boat License Safety course at boat-ed.com. Find out if you need the card.
Did you lose your card? Replace it here.
Got the Card? Get the Handbook
The Boater's Guide of Arizona, A Handbook of Boating Laws and Responsibilities, developed for Arizona Game and Fish Department and available online only at boat-ed.com
For New and Experienced Arizona Boaters
Arizona Game and Fish Department
5000 W. Carefree Highway
Phoenix, AZ 85086-5000