The Boater's Guide of Arizona, A Handbook of Boating Laws and Responsibilities
The Official Boating Handbook of the Arizona Game and Fish Department
Table of Contents
Personal Flotation Devices (Life Jackets)
All vessels, except sailboards and certain racing shells or rowing skulls, must have at least one wearable Type I, II, III, or V personal flotation device (PFD) that is U.S. Coast Guard–approved and of the proper size for each person on board. Sizing for life jackets (PFDs) is based on body weight and chest size.
All life jackets (PFDs) must be in good and serviceable condition and must be readily accessible.
In addition to the above requirements, vessels 16 feet in length or longer, except a canoe or kayak, must have one Type IV U.S. Coast Guard–approved PFD on board and readily accessible.
All children 12 years of age and younger must wear a U.S. Coast Guard–approved Type I, II, or III life jacket (PFD) while underway on any vessel. The life jacket (PFD) must be fastened according to the manufacturer’s recommended use and must fit the child properly.
Each person on a PWC must wear a U.S. Coast Guard–approved Type I, II, or III personal flotation device; and all closures of the personal flotation device must be fastened or secured according to the manufacturer’s design or recommended use and must be adjusted for a snug fit.
Each person being towed behind a vessel on water skis or a similar device must wear a life jacket (PFD) or buoyant belt. Note, however, that buoyant belts are not approved by the U.S. Coast Guard.
Inflatable PFDs must have a full cylinder, green status indicators, and an accessible and intact lanyard or lever. Hybrid inflatable USCG–approved PFDs, which use foam and inflation for buoyancy, are approved for children. Non-hybrid inflatable USCG–approved PFDs (no foam) are authorized only for persons at least 16 years old.