Florida’s Boater Safety Education Program
Florida joins more than 40 states with educational requirements for operating a boat or PWC on state waters.
By completing and passing this Florida–approved online boating license course, you will have satisfied the educational requirement for Florida.
Pay Only When You Pass
unlimited exam attempts
It’s the Law!
Get Safe. Get Certified.
Who Needs the Card?
Florida law requires that persons born on or after January 1, 1988, complete a NASBLA-approved boater education course prior to operating a vessel powered by a motor of 10 horsepower or more. The law requires that persons affected by this legislation have in their possession a Boating Safety Education I.D. Card issued by the Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission and photographic I.D. while operating a vessel.
Even if not required by law to get the Florida boating license, many boaters take the boat safety course in order to save on their PWC or boat insurance.
No one under 14 years of age may operate any PWC on Florida waters at any time, even if such person possesses a Boating Safety Education ID Card.
No one under the age of 18 years may rent/lease a PWC.
It is also illegal for the owner of a PWC to knowingly allow a person under 14 years of age to operate a PWC.
Good in U.S. States
All states that have mandatory boater education requirements will accept a Florida Boating Safety Education I.D. Card. Likewise, Florida will accept boating education cards that are issued by states that meet NASBLA requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
Florida law enforcement officers patrol the waterways to make your boating experience safe and pleasant. Cooperate with them by following the laws and guidelines.
Carry the Card Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer.
Penalty Not carrying your Boater Education Card when one is required can result in a fine.
For More Information
For details about the boater education law, who is exempt from the education requirement, which courses are approved, the Certification Exam, and the application for the Boater Education Card, visit http://myfwc.com.
Is the Boating Card the same as a Boating License?
The Florida Boating Safety Education I.D. Card is proof that you have successfully completed an approved boating safety course. Since the boater education card does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called a Florida Boating License.
How do I get my state boating license?
You may have heard that you need the Florida Boat License to operate your boat, but what you really need is the Florida Boating Safety Education I.D. Card. You can get the Florida Boating Safety Education I.D. Card by taking this Boat License Safety course at boat-ed.com. Find out if you need the card.
Did you lose your card? Replace it here.
Got the Card? Get the Handbook
The Florida Boater’s Guide - A Handbook of Boating Laws and Responsibilities, developed for Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission and available online only at boat-ed.com
For New and Experienced Florida Boaters
Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission
620 S. Meridian Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1600