The Idaho Boater Education Card
Proof that you have successfully completed the Idaho State Parks and Recreation–approved boating safety course
To get your own Idaho boating card, just complete this Idaho online boating license course.
Pay Only When You Pass
unlimited exam attempts
Who needs the Boater Education Card?
It’s the Law!
Although there is no statewide law specifying a minimum age to operate a vessel, all operators must be competent and are held responsible for knowing the navigation rules. In addition, there are local age regulations, for example in Benewah, Bonner, and Kootenai counties. Be sure to contact the counties and cities where you plan to boat about their local ordinances.
Idaho law requires boater education under these conditions:
- Personal watercraft rental businesses must provide education to each person who will ride and operate the PWC. The operator of the PWC must carry a verification wallet card. The Idaho State Parks and Recreation provides the education materials to rental businesses.
- In addition to penalties, boat operators are required to pass a boating course if they are convicted of operating under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
- Boat operators who are repeat offenders of any boating law or rule also are required to pass a boating course.
You Must Carry the Card
Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer.
All states that have mandatory boater education requirements will accept the Idaho Boater Education Certificate. Likewise, Idaho will accept boating education cards that are issued by states that meet NASBLA requirements.
Is the Boating Card the same as a Boating License?
The Idaho Boater Education Card is proof that you have successfully completed an approved boating safety course. Since the boater education card does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called the Idaho Boating License.
I do not have a driver’s license. Can I still get the Idaho Boater Education Card?
Yes. You are not required to have a state driver’s license in order to obtain a Boater Education Card.
How do I get a card?
Get your card in 3 easy steps.
Complete the Course
Step One: Register for the course, study the free online course material, and pass the Idaho Certification Exam. (If you don’t pass on the first try, don’t worry. Keep taking the Certification Exam for free until you pass.)
Print Temporary Certificate
Step Two: After passing and paying the $29.50 course fee, you’ll instantly print out a temporary certificate, which is your temporary operating permit to operate legally on Idaho waters while you wait for your permanent card to arrive.
Get on the Water!
Step Three: Your Idaho Boater Education Card will arrive in the mail in 8-10 business days. While waiting, your temporary certificate (the Temporary Boater Education Certificate) you printed in Step Two will serve as your proof to legally operate on Idaho waters.
How do I get a replacement card?
A duplicate can be issued for a $10 charge if you have taken (and passed) the Boat Idaho Course. To obtain a duplicate Idaho Boater Education Certificate, mail the request with a check for $10 payable to Boat Idaho to:
14086 Proton Road
Dallas, TX 75244
Be sure to include the student's full name and date of birth in the mailed request for a duplicate card.
You may also phone Customer Service to request the duplicate and pay by credit card. You may reach us by phone at 800-830-2268 (toll-free) or 214-351-0461. Our office hours are 8:30 to 5:30 Central Time, Monday through Friday, with extended hours during late spring and summer season.
How do I get my state boating license?
You may have heard that you need the Idaho Boat License to operate your boat, but what you really need is the Idaho Boater Education Certificate. You can get the Idaho Boater Education Certificate by taking this Boat License Safety course at boat-ed.com. Find out if you need the card.
Did you lose your card? Replace it here.
Got the Card? Get the Handbook
The Handbook of Idaho Boating Laws and Responsibilities, developed for Idaho State Parks and Recreation and available online only at boat-ed.com
For New and Experienced Idaho Boaters
Idaho State Parks and Recreation
5657 Warm Springs Ave.
Boise, ID 83716