Kentucky’s Boater Safety Education Program
Kentucky joins 36 other states that have educational requirements for operating a boat or PWC on state waters.
By completing and passing this Kentucky–approved online boating license course, you will have satisfied the educational requirement for Kentucky.
Pay Only When You Pass
unlimited exam attempts
It’s the Law!
Get Safe. Get Certified.
Who Needs the Card?
Operators 12 to 17 years of age may legally operate a motorized vessel over 10 horsepower (including personal watercraft) only if they:
- Have passed an approved boating safety course and carry on board their boater education certificate or…
- Are accompanied on board by a person 18 years old or older or by a person who possesses a boater education card.
Kentucky Boater Education Law contains the following age-specific restrictions.
- A person must be 12 years or older to operate a motorboat (including personal watercraft) 10 horsepower or over on Kentucky public waters.
- Persons 12 to 17 years of age must have passed an approved boating safety course and carry on board their Kentucky Boater Education Certificate to operate a motorboat (including personal watercraft) of 10 horsepower or more.
Good in Other States
All states that have mandatory boater education requirements will accept a Kentucky Boater Education Certificate. Likewise, Kentucky will accept boating education cards that are issued by states that meet NASBLA requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
Kentucky law enforcement officers patrol the waterways to make your boating experience safe and pleasant. Cooperate with them by following the laws and guidelines.
Carry the Card Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer.
Penalty Not carrying your Boater Education Card when one is required can result in a fine.
For More Information
For details about the boater education law, who is exempt from the education requirement, which courses are approved, the equivalency exam, and the application for the Boater Education Card, visit http://www.kdfwr.state.ky.us.
How do I get my state boating license?
You may have heard that you need the Kentucky Boat License to operate your boat, but what you really need is the Kentucky Boater Education Certificate. You can get the Kentucky Boater Education Certificate by taking this Boat License Safety course at boat-ed.com. Find out if you need the card.
Did you lose your card? Replace it here.
Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources
#1 Sportsman's Lane
Frankfort, KY 40601