The Louisiana Boater Education Card
Proof that you have successfully completed the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries–approved boating safety course
To get your own Louisiana boating card, just complete this Louisiana online boating license course.
Pay Only When You Pass
unlimited exam attempts
Who needs the Boater Education Card?
It’s the Law!
Persons born after January 1, 1984, may not operate a motorboat or PWC powered by a motor in excess of 10 horsepower unless he or she has successfully completed a boating safety course approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA). These persons must be in possession of evidence of completion of the approved course whenever operating such a vessel.
Even if not required by law to get the Louisiana boating license, many boaters take the boat safety course in order to save on their PWC or boat insurance.
You Must Carry the Card
Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer.
All states that have mandatory boater education requirements will accept the Louisiana Boater Education Certificate. Likewise, Louisiana will accept boating education cards that are issued by states that meet NASBLA requirements.
Is the Boating Card the same as a Boating License?
The Louisiana Boater Education Card is proof that you have successfully completed an approved boating safety course. Since the boater education card does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called the Louisiana Boating License.
I do not have a driver’s license. Can I still get the Louisiana Boater Education Card?
Yes. You are not required to have a state driver’s license in order to obtain a Boater Education Card.
How do I get a card?
Get your card in 3 easy steps.
Complete the Course
Step One: Register for the course, study the free online course material, and pass the Louisiana Certification Exam. (If you don’t pass on the first try, don’t worry. Keep taking the Certification Exam for free until you pass.)
Print Temporary Certificate
Step Two: After passing and paying the $24.50 course fee, you’ll instantly print out a temporary certificate, which is your temporary operating permit to operate legally on Louisiana waters while you wait for your permanent card to arrive.
Get on the Water!
Step Three: Your Louisiana Boater Education Card will arrive in the mail in 2-3 weeks. While waiting, your temporary certificate (the Temporary Boater Education Certificate) you printed in Step Two will serve as your proof to legally operate on Louisiana waters.
How do I get a replacement card?
A duplicate certificate can be issued for students who have passed the Boat Louisiana course. To request a duplicate boater safety card, contact the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries:
By phone at: 225-765-2989
By fax at: 225-765-0593
By mail at:
P.O. Box 98000
Baton Rouge, LA 70898-9000
Be sure to include the student's full name, date of birth and current address in the request for the duplicate card.
How do I get my state boating license?
You may have heard that you need the Louisiana Boat License to operate your boat, but what you really need is the Louisiana Boater Education Certificate. You can get the Louisiana Boater Education Certificate by taking this Boat License Safety course at boat-ed.com. Find out if you need the card.
Did you lose your card? Replace it here.
Got the Card? Get the Handbook
The Handbook of Louisiana Boating Laws and Responsibilities, developed for Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and available online only at boat-ed.com
For New and Experienced Louisiana Boaters
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
P.O. Box 98000, 2000 Quail Dr.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70898