Louisiana’s Boater Safety Education Program
Louisiana joins 45 other states that have educational requirements for operating a boat or PWC on state waters.
By completing and passing this Louisiana–approved online boating license course, you will have satisfied the educational requirement for Louisiana.
Pay Only When You Pass
unlimited exam attempts
It’s the Law!
Get Safe. Get Certified.
Who Needs the Card?
Persons born after January 1, 1984, may not operate a motorboat or PWC powered by a motor in excess of 10 horsepower unless he or she has successfully completed a boating safety course approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA). These persons must be in possession of evidence of completion of the approved course whenever operating such a vessel.
Even if not required by law to get the Louisiana boating license, many boaters take the boat safety course in order to save on their PWC or boat insurance.
There is no minimum age to take the online course and boater exam.
However, persons born after January 1, 1984, may not operate a motorboat or PWC powered by a motor in excess of 10 horsepower unless he or she has successfully completed a boating safety course approved by NASBLA.
It is illegal for anyone under the age of 16 years to operate a PWC. It is also unlawful for a person who owns or has charge of a personal watercraft to knowingly permit a person under the age of 16 years to operate the PWC. It is illegal for a rental company to rent a personal watercraft to anyone under 16 years of age.
Good in Other States
All states that have mandatory boater education requirements will accept a Louisiana Boater Education Certificate. Likewise, Louisiana will accept boating education cards that are issued by states that meet NASBLA requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
Louisiana law enforcement officers patrol the waterways to make your boating experience safe and pleasant. Cooperate with them by following the laws and guidelines.
Carry the Card Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer.
Penalty Not carrying your Boater Education Card when one is required can result in a fine.
For More Information
For details about the boater education law, who is exempt from the education requirement, which courses are approved, the equivalency exam, and the application for the Boater Education Card, visit http://www.wlf.louisiana.gov.
Is the Boating Card the same as a Boating License?
The Louisiana Boater Education Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed an approved boating safety course. Since the boater education card does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called a Louisiana Boating License.
How do I get my state boating license?
You may have heard that you need the Louisiana Boat License to operate your boat, but what you really need is the Louisiana Boater Education Certificate. You can get the Louisiana Boater Education Certificate by taking this Boat License Safety course at boat-ed.com. Find out if you need the card.
Did you lose your card? Replace it here.
Got the Card? Get the Handbook
The Handbook of Louisiana Boating Laws and Responsibilities, developed for Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and available online only at boat-ed.com
For New and Experienced Louisiana Boaters
Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
P.O. Box 98000, 2000 Quail Dr.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70898