The Mississippi Boater Education Card
Proof that you have successfully completed the Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks–approved boating safety course
To get your own Mississippi boating card, just complete this Mississippi online boating license course.
Pay Only When You Pass
unlimited exam attempts
Who needs the Boater Education Card?
It’s the Law!
All persons born after June 30, 1980, must have passed a boating education course approved by the Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks (DWFP) and Mississippi Department of Marine Resources (DMR) to operate a vessel legally.
The boating education certificate must be carried on board the vessel whenever it is operated by someone required to have a certificate.
You Must Carry the Card
Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer.
All states that have mandatory boater education requirements will accept the Mississippi Boater Education Certificate. Likewise, Mississippi will accept boating education cards that are issued by states that meet NASBLA requirements.
Is the Boating Card the same as a Boating License?
The Mississippi Boater Education Card is proof that you have successfully completed an approved boating safety course. Since the boater education card does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called the Mississippi Boating License.
I do not have a driver’s license. Can I still get the Mississippi Boater Education Card?
Yes. You are not required to have a state driver’s license in order to obtain a Boater Education Card.
How do I get a card?
Get your card in 3 easy steps.
Complete the Course
Step One: Register for the course, study the free online course material, and pass the Mississippi Certification Exam. (If you don’t pass on the first try, don’t worry. Keep taking the Certification Exam for free until you pass.)
Print Temporary Certificate
Step Two: After passing and paying the $29.50 course fee, you’ll instantly print out a temporary certificate, which is your temporary operating permit to operate legally on Mississippi waters while you wait for your permanent card to arrive.
Get on the Water!
Step Three: Your Mississippi Boater Education Card will arrive in the mail in 8-10 business days. While waiting, your temporary certificate (the Temporary Boater Education Certificate) you printed in Step Two will serve as your proof to legally operate on Mississippi waters.
How do I get a replacement card?
A duplicate can be issued for a $10 charge if you have taken (and passed) the Boat Mississippi Course. To obtain a duplicate Mississippi Boater Education Certificate, mail the request with a check for $10 payable to Boat Mississippi to:
14086 Proton Road
Dallas, TX 75244
Be sure to include the student's full name and date of birth in the mailed request for a duplicate card.
You may also phone Customer Service to request the duplicate and pay by credit card. You may reach us by phone at 800-830-2268 (toll-free) or 214-351-0461. Our office hours are 8:30 to 5:30 Central Time, Monday through Friday, with extended hours during late spring and summer season.
How do I get my state boating license?
You may have heard that you need the Mississippi Boat License to operate your boat, but what you really need is the Mississippi Boater Education Certificate. You can get the Mississippi Boater Education Certificate by taking this Boat License Safety course at boat-ed.com. Find out if you need the card.
Did you lose your card? Replace it here.
Got the Card? Get the Handbook
The Handbook of Mississippi Boating Laws and Responsibilities, developed for Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks and available online only at boat-ed.com
For New and Experienced Mississippi Boaters
Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks
Jackson, MS 39211