The Handbook of Mississippi Boating Laws and Responsibilites
The Official Boating Handbook of the Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks
Table of Contents
Vessel operators involved in an accident must report it. An accident includes, but is not limited to, capsizing, collision, foundering, flooding, fire, explosion, and the disappearance of a vessel other than by theft.
The operator must file an accident report form if:
- A person dies or disappears or …
- An injury occurs causing any person to remain incapacitated for more than 24 hours or …
- Damage to the vessel and other property exceeds $100.
Report accidents to the Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries, & Parks if the accident occurs north of Interstate 10, or to the Mississippi Department of Marine Resources if it occurs south of Interstate 10.
Most reports must be made within five days of the accident. However, you must file the report within 48 hours if a person dies as a result of the accident.
It is also the duty of any operator involved an accident to remain at the scene until he or she has rendered all necessary aid and assistance, including ensuring that any injured person receives medical treatment.