The Handbook of Mississippi Boating Laws and Responsibilites
The Official Boating Handbook of the Mississippi Department of Wildlife, Fisheries and Parks
Table of Contents
Required Equipment Checklist
|PWC||Boat Less Than 16 Ft.||Boat 16 Ft. To Less Than 26 Ft.|
|Boating Education Certificate||✓1||✓1||✓1|
|Certificate of Number On Board||✓||✓||✓|
|Validation Decals Displayed||✓||✓||✓|
|PFDs: Type I, II, III or V||✓2||✓3||✓3|
|PFD: Type IV||✓|
|Ignition Safety Switch||✓4|
|Type B-I Fire Extinguisher||✓||✓||✓|
|Backfire Flame Arrestor||✓||✓5||✓5|
|Horn, Whistle, or Bell||✓||✓||✓|
|Daytime Visual Distress Signals||✓6|
|Nighttime Visual Distress Signals||7||✓6||✓6|
- Applicable if operator is born after June 30, 1980. See who may operate a vessel.
- Those on PWCs must wear a Type I, II, or III PFD at all times.
- Those 12 years old and younger must wear a PFD at all times when underway in a vessel less than 26 ft. in length.
- When boating on Mississippi marine waters south of Interstate Highway 10 (I-10).
- Required on inboard and stern drives only.
- When boating on federally controlled waters.
- It is strongly recommended that PWCs are not operated after dark. However, if a PWC is operated at night, it has the same requirements for visual distress signals and navigation lights as a boat less than 16 feet long.