Missouri’s Boater Safety Education Program
Missouri joins more than 40 states with educational requirements for operating a boat or PWC on state waters.
By completing and passing this Missouri–approved online boating license course, you will have satisfied the educational requirement for Missouri.
Pay Only When You Pass
two exam attempts
It’s the Law!
Get Safe. Get Certified.
Who Needs the Card?
Missouri law places restrictions on boat and PWC operation for those under 14 years of age. In addition, passing an approved boating safety course is required for all persons born after January 1, 1984, in order to operate any vessel on the lakes of Missouri.
Even if not required by law to get the Missouri boating license, many boaters take the boat safety course in order to save on their PWC or boat insurance.
There is no minimum age to take the online course.
However, all persons must be at least 14 years of age to legally operate a motorboat or PWC unless under the direct, onboard supervision of a parent, guardian, or other person 16 years of age or older.
Good in U.S. States
All states that have mandatory boater education requirements will accept a Missouri Boating Safety Certification Card. Likewise, Missouri will accept boating education cards that are issued by states that meet NASBLA requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
Missouri law enforcement officers patrol the waterways to make your boating experience safe and pleasant. Cooperate with them by following the laws and guidelines.
Carry the Card Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer.
Penalty Not carrying your Boater Education Card when one is required can result in a fine.
For More Information
For details about the boater education law, who is exempt from the education requirement, which courses are approved, the Final Exam, and the application for the Boater Education Card, visit http://www.mshp.dps.missouri.gov.
Is the Boating Card the same as a Boating License?
The Missouri Boating Safety Certification Card is proof that you have successfully completed an approved boating safety course. Since the boater education card does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called a Missouri Boating License.
How do I get my state boating license?
You may have heard that you need the Missouri Boat License to operate your boat, but what you really need is the Missouri Boating Safety Certification Card. You can get the Missouri Boating Safety Certification Card by taking this Boat License Safety course at boat-ed.com. Find out if you need the card.
Did you lose your card? Replace it here.
Got the Card? Get the Handbook
The Handbook of Missouri Boating Laws and Responsibilities, developed for Missouri State Highway Patrol, Water Patrol Division and available online only at boat-ed.com
For New and Experienced Missouri Boaters
Missouri State Highway Patrol, Water Patrol Division
1510 East Elm Street
Jefferson City, MO 65102
573-751-3313 ext. 1036