It's the Law:
On the Water with Your Vessel
Vessel operators involved in an accident must report it.
An accident includes, but is not limited to, capsizing,
collision, foundering, flooding, fire, explosion, and the
disappearance of a vessel other than by theft.
The operator must file an accident report form if:
- A person dies or disappears or…
- An injury occurs causing any person to remain
incapacitated for more than 24 hours or…
- Damage to the vessel and other property exceeds $100.
Report accidents to the Mississippi Department of
Wildlife, Fisheries, & Parks if the accident occurs north
of Interstate 10, or to the Mississippi Department of Marine
Resources if it occurs south of Interstate 10.
Most reports must be made within five days of the
accident. However, you must file the report within 48
hours if a person dies as a result of the accident.
It is also the duty of any operator involved an accident
to remain at the scene until he or she has rendered all
necessary aid and assistance, including ensuring that any
injured person receives medical treatment.