North Carolina Boating Regulations and Laws
The North Carolina boater safety certification card (commonly
known as the North Carolina boating license) is proof that a boater
has successfully completed a boating safety course.
A person 14 or 15 years old may operate a PWC only if he or she has on his or her person identification showing proof of age and a boating certification card showing proof of passing a boating safety course approved by NASBLA and accepted by the Wildlife Resources Commission. OR he or she is accompanied on board the PWC by a person who is at least 18 years old and who is in compliance with the requirements for operating a vessel (see "Who May Operate a Vessel"). Those younger than 14 years may not legally operate a PWC.
Even if not required by law to get the North Carolina boating
license, many boaters take the boat safety course in order to save
on their PWC or boat insurance.
Do your part to make boating in North Carolina a safe, enjoyable
pastime! Become an educated, responsible boater by completing the Boat
North Carolina course and practice what you learn.
How do I learn about the legal requirements of boating in North
Laws and regulations concerning operating a personal watercraft
or vessel, required equipment, vessel registration and much more
can be found in Chapter 4: The
Legal Requirements of Boating.
How do I take a safe boating exam and get my boater education
- Internet: You can study over the Internet
then take the North Carolina online
boating exam. Once you pass, the official boater safety certification
card approved by the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission
is mailed to your home.
- Classroom: Share the learning experience with
other boaters and a qualified instructor. Check the North
Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission website to locate
the next safe boating classroom course in your area.
Where can I get the boater safety education course material?
You're at the right place, because the Boat North Carolina online
safe boating course is the official course developed specifically
for the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission. All the
required safe boating course material to
get your boater safety certification card is available for free
online. Please visit our North Carolina safe boating course introductory page
to find out about the boater exam process.
Where can I get more information about the North Carolina boater
safety certification card?
Who needs a North Carolina boat license, and what can they operate
once they get their boater safety certification card?
North Carolina's boating safety education requirements and laws
about operating a boat or PWC are explained in detail on the Who
May Operate a Vessel page.