New Hampshire’s Boater Safety Education Program
New Hampshire joins more than 40 states with educational requirements for operating a boat or PWC on state waters.
By completing and passing this New Hampshire–approved online boating license course, you will have satisfied the educational requirement for New Hampshire.
Pay Only When You Pass
unlimited exam attempts
It’s the Law!
Get Safe. Get Certified.
Who Needs the Card?
Everyone 16 years of age and older who operates a motorboat over 25 horsepower on New Hampshire waters must have a boating education certificate.
New Hampshire accepts the following certificates or licenses in lieu of the New Hampshire boating education certificate:
- A boating certificate issued by another State agency and NASBLA approved.
- A boating certificate issued by the US Power Squadron.
- A boating certificate issued by the US Coast Guard Auxiliary.
- An unexpired commercial boating license issued by the US Coast Guard.
- An unexpired commercial boating license issued by the State of New Hampshire.
Persons 15 years of age can take the course and exam for the safe boater education certificate, but the certificate will not be issued until the age of 16.
Good in U.S. States
All states that have mandatory boater education requirements will accept a New Hampshire Safe Boater Education Certificate. Likewise, New Hampshire will accept boating education cards that are issued by states that meet NASBLA requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
New Hampshire law enforcement officers patrol the waterways to make your boating experience safe and pleasant. Cooperate with them by following the laws and guidelines.
Carry the Card Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer.
Penalty Not carrying your Boater Education Card when one is required can result in a fine.
For More Information
For details about the boater education law, who is exempt from the education requirement, which courses are approved, the Online Exam, and the application for the Boater Education Card, visit http://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/nhsp/fob/marine-patrol/index.html.
Is the Boating Card the same as a Boating License?
The New Hampshire Safe Boater Education Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed an approved boating safety course. Since the boater education card does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called a New Hampshire Boating License.
How do I get my state boating license?
You may have heard that you need the New Hampshire Boat License to operate your boat, but what you really need is the New Hampshire Safe Boater Education Certificate. You can get the New Hampshire Safe Boater Education Certificate by taking this Boat License Safety course at boat-ed.com and passing the In-Person Exam. Find out if you need the card.
Did you lose your card? Replace it here.
Got the Card? Get the Handbook
The Boater's Guide of New Hampshire - A Handbook of Boating Laws and Responsibilities, developed for New Hampshire Marine Patrol and available online only at boat-ed.com
For New and Experienced New Hampshire Boaters
New Hampshire Marine Patrol
31 Dock Road
Gilford, NH 03249