New Mexico’s Boater Safety Education Program
New Mexico joins 36 other states that have educational requirements for operating a boat or PWC on state waters.
By completing and passing this New Mexico–approved online boating license course, you will have satisfied the educational requirement for New Mexico.
Pay Only When You Pass
unlimited exam attempts
It’s the Law!
Get Safe. Get Certified.
Who Needs the Card?
All persons born on or after January 1, 1989, must pass an approved boater education course or a proctored examination before they may operate a motorboat legally.
Operators are exempt if they:
- Possess a valid license issued by the U.S. Coast Guard or…
- Are renting the motorboat for 30 days or fewer and have received instructions on safe boat operation and a summary of boating law from the rental company.
There is no minimum age to take the online boat safety exam.
All persons must be at least 13 years of age to operate a sailboat, motorboat, or PWC unless they are under the direct, on board supervision of an adult. Those under 13 years of age must have their Boater Education Card on board even when operating under direct supervision.
Good in Other States
All states that have mandatory boater education requirements will accept a New Mexico Boater Education Certificate. Likewise, New Mexico will accept boating education cards that are issued by states that meet NASBLA requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
New Mexico law enforcement officers patrol the waterways to make your boating experience safe and pleasant. Cooperate with them by following the laws and guidelines.
Carry the Card Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer.
Penalty Not carrying your Boater Education Card when one is required can result in a fine.
For More Information
For details about the boater education law, who is exempt from the education requirement, which courses are approved, the equivalency exam, and the application for the Boater Education Card, visit http://www.emnrd.state.nm.us.
Is the Boating Card the same as a Boating License?
The New Mexico Boater Education Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed an approved boating safety course. Since the boater education card does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called a New Mexico Boating License.
How do I get my state boating license?
You may have heard that you need the New Mexico Boat License to operate your boat, but what you really need is the New Mexico Boater Education Certificate. You can get the New Mexico Boater Education Certificate by taking this Boat License Safety course at boat-ed.com. Find out if you need the card.
Did you lose your card? Replace it here.
Got the Card? Get the Handbook
The Handbook of New Mexico Boating Laws and Responsibilities, developed for New Mexico State Parks and available online only at boat-ed.com
For New and Experienced New Mexico Boaters
New Mexico State Parks
1220 South St. Francis Drive, P.O. Box 1147
Santa Fe, NM 87505