The North Carolina Boater Education Card
Proof that you have successfully completed the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission–approved boating safety course
To get your own North Carolina boating card, just complete this North Carolina online boating license course.
Pay Only When You Pass
unlimited exam attempts
Who needs the Boater Education Card?
It’s the Law!
Any person under the age of 26 must complete a NASBLA approved boating education course before operating any vessel propelled by a motor of 10 HP or greater.
Even if not required by law to get the North Carolina boating license, many boaters take the boat safety course in order to save on their PWC or boat insurance.
You Must Carry the Card
Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer.
All states that have mandatory boater education requirements will accept the North Carolina Boater Education Card. Likewise North Carolina will accept boating education cards that are issued by states that meet NASBLA requirements.
Is the Boating Card the same as a Boating License?
The North Carolina Boater Education Card is proof that you have successfully completed an approved boating safety course. Since the boater education card does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called the North Carolina Boating License.
I do not have a driver’s license. Can I still get the North Carolina Boater Education Card?
Yes. You are not required to have a state driver’s license in order to obtain a Boater Education Card.
How do I get a card?
Get your card in 3 easy steps.
Complete the Course
Step One Register for the course, study the free online course material, and pass the North Carolina boating license final exam. (If you don’t pass on the first try, don’t worry. Keep taking the exam for free until you pass.)
Print Temporary Certificate
Step Two After passing and paying the $29.50 course fee, you’ll instantly print out a temporary certificate, which is your temporary operating permit to operate legally on North Carolina waters while you wait for your permanent card to arrive.
Get on the Water!
Step Three Your North Carolina Boater Education Card will arrive in the mail in 8-10 business days. While waiting, your temporary certificate (the Temporary Boater Education Certificate) you printed in Step Two will serve as your proof to legally operate on North Carolina waters.
How do I get a replacement card?
A duplicate can be issued for a $10 charge if you have taken (and passed) the Boat North Carolina Course. To obtain a duplicate North Carolina Boater Education Certificate, mail the request with a check for $10, payable to Boat North Carolina to:
Boat North Carolina
14086 Proton Road
Dallas, TX 75244
Be sure to include the student's full name and date of birth in the mailed request for a duplicate card.
You may also phone Customer Service to request the duplicate and pay by credit card. You may reach us by phone at 1-800-830-2268 (toll-free) or 214-351-0461. Our office hours are 8:30 to 5:30 Central Time, Monday through Friday, with extended hours during late spring and summer season.
How do I get my state boating license?
You may have heard that you need the North Carolina Boat License to operate your boat, but what you really need is the North Carolina Boater Education Certificate. You can get the North Carolina Boater Education Certificate by taking this Boat License Safety course at boat-ed.com. Find out if you need the card.
Did you lose your card? Replace it here.
North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission
1751 Varsity Drive
Raleigh, NC 27606