North Dakota’s Boater Safety Education Program
North Dakota joins more than 40 states with educational requirements for operating a boat or PWC on state waters.
By completing and passing this North Dakota–approved online boating license course, you will have satisfied the educational requirement for North Dakota.
Pay Only When You Pass
unlimited exam attempts
It’s the Law!
Get Safe. Get Certified.
Who Needs the Card?
In North Dakota, those 12 through 15 years of age may not operate a power-driven vessel (including personal watercraft) that is propelled by a motor over 10 horsepower unaccompanied unless they have passed an approved boating safety course.
Even if not required by law to get the North Dakota boating license, many boaters take the boat safety course in order to save on their PWC or boat insurance.
Persons under 12 years of age may not operate a power-driven vessel (including personal watercraft) that is propelled by a motor over 10 horsepower unless they are accompanied on board by a person at least 18 years of age.
Persons 12 through 15 years of age may not operate a power-driven vessel (including personal watercraft) that is propelled by a motor over 10 horsepower unless they are accompanied on board by a person at least 18 years of age or they have successfully completed an approved boating safety course.
Good in U.S. States
All states that have mandatory boater education requirements will accept a North Dakota Boater Education Certificate. Likewise, North Dakota will accept boating education cards that are issued by states that meet NASBLA requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
North Dakota law enforcement officers patrol the waterways to make your boating experience safe and pleasant. Cooperate with them by following the laws and guidelines.
Carry the Card Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer.
Penalty Not carrying your Boater Education Card when one is required can result in a fine.
For More Information
For details about the boater education law, who is exempt from the education requirement, which courses are approved, the Certification Exam, and the application for the Boater Education Card, visit http://gf.nd.gov.
Is the Boating Card the same as a Boating License?
The North Dakota Boater Education Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed an approved boating safety course. Since the boater education card does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called a North Dakota Boating License.
How do I get my state boating license?
You may have heard that you need the North Dakota Boat License to operate your boat, but what you really need is the North Dakota Boater Education Certificate. You can get the North Dakota Boater Education Certificate by taking this Boat License Safety course at boat-ed.com. Find out if you need the card.
Did you lose your card? Replace it here.
North Dakota Game and Fish Department
100 N. Bismarck Expressway
Bismarck, ND 58501-5095