Oklahoma’s Boater Safety Education Program
Oklahoma joins more than 40 states with educational requirements for operating a boat or PWC on state waters.
By completing and passing this Oklahoma–approved online boating license course, you will have satisfied the educational requirement for Oklahoma.
Pay Only When You Pass
unlimited exam attempts
It’s the Law!
Get Safe. Get Certified.
Who Needs the Card?
A child 12 years of age or older but not yet 16 years of age may operate a vessel powered by a motor or combination of motors over 10 horsepower, a personal watercraft (PWC), or a sail-powered vessel 16 feet or more in length only if he or she has successfully completed an approved boating safety education course and received a boating safety education certificate and is supervised by a competent adult who is at least 18 years of age.
There is no minimum age to take the online boat safety exam.
A child under 12 years of age may not operate, under any circumstances, a vessel powered by a motor or combination of motors over 10 horsepower, a personal watercraft (PWC), or a sail-powered vessel 16 feet or more in length.
A child 12 years of age or older but not yet 16 years of age may operate a vessel powered by a motor or combination of motors over 10 horsepower, a personal watercraft (PWC), or a sail-powered vessel 16 feet or more in length only if all of the following conditions are met.
- He or she has successfully completed an approved boating safety education course or passed a proctored equivalency examination and has received a Boating Safety Education Certificate and…
- He or she is supervised by a competent person who is at least 18 years of age.
- If the vessel is other than a personal watercraft: The supervising person must be on board and in position to take immediate control of the vessel.
- If the vessel is a personal watercraft: The person must supervise visually within 500 yards of the PWC.
Good in U.S. States
All states that have mandatory boater education requirements will accept an Oklahoma Boater Education Certificate. Likewise, Oklahoma will accept boating education cards that are issued by states that meet NASBLA requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
Oklahoma law enforcement officers patrol the waterways to make your boating experience safe and pleasant. Cooperate with them by following the laws and guidelines.
Carry the Card Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer.
Penalty Not carrying your Boater Education Card when one is required can result in a fine.
For More Information
For details about the boater education law, who is exempt from the education requirement, which courses are approved, the Certification Exam, and the application for the Boater Education Card, visit http://www.dps.state.ok.us/ohp/aboutlp.htm.
Is the Boating Card the same as a Boating License?
The Oklahoma Boater Education Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed an approved boating safety course. Since the boater education card does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called an Oklahoma Boating License.
How do I get my state boating license?
You may have heard that you need the Oklahoma Boat License to operate your boat, but what you really need is the Oklahoma Boater Education Certificate. You can get the Oklahoma Boater Education Certificate by taking this Boat License Safety course at boat-ed.com. Find out if you need the card.
Did you lose your card? Replace it here.
Got the Card? Get the Handbook
The Handbook of Oklahoma Boating Laws and Responsibilities, developed for Oklahoma Highway Patrol, Lake Patrol Section and available online only at boat-ed.com
For New and Experienced Oklahoma Boaters
Oklahoma Highway Patrol, Lake Patrol Section
3600 North Martin Luther King Avenue
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73111