The Pennsylvania Boater Education Card
Proof that you have successfully completed the Pennsylvania Fish & Boat Commission–approved boating safety course
To get your own Pennsylvania boating card, just complete this Pennsylvania online boating license course.
Pay Only When You Pass
unlimited exam attempts
Who needs the Boater Education Card?
It’s the Law!
Boating safety education certificates are required of the following operators:
- Persons born on or after January 1, 1982, may not operate boats powered by a motor greater than 25 hp unless they have in their possession a boating safety education certificate.
- Anyone operating a PWC on Pennsylvania public waters must have in their possession a boating safety education certificate.
Even if not required by law to get the Pennsylvania boating license, many boaters take the boat safety course in order to save on their PWC or boat insurance.
Residents of other states who were born on or after January 1, 1982, and operate on Pennsylvania waters for 60 days or less are exempt if they hold a boating safety certificate issued by their home state.
You Must Carry the Card
Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer.
All states that have mandatory boater education requirements will accept the Pennsylvania Boater Education Certificate. Likewise, Pennsylvania will accept boating education cards that are issued by states that meet NASBLA requirements.
Is the Boating Card the same as a Boating License?
The Pennsylvania Boater Education Card is proof that you have successfully completed an approved boating safety course. Since the boater education card does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called the Pennsylvania Boating License.
I do not have a driver’s license. Can I still get the Pennsylvania Boater Education Card?
Yes. You are not required to have a state driver’s license in order to obtain a Boater Education Card.
How do I get a card?
Get your card in 3 easy steps.
Complete the Course
Step One: Register for the course, study the free online course material, and pass the Pennsylvania Final Exam. (If you don’t pass on the first try, don’t worry. Keep taking the Final Exam for free until you pass.)
Print Temporary Certificate
Step Two: After passing and paying the $34.50 course fee, you’ll instantly print out a temporary certificate, which is your temporary operating permit to operate legally on Pennsylvania waters while you wait for your permanent card to arrive.
Get on the Water!
Step Three: Your Pennsylvania Boater Education Card will arrive in the mail in 4-6 weeks. While waiting, your temporary certificate (the Boater Education Certificate) you printed in Step Two will serve as your proof to legally operate on Pennsylvania waters.
How do I get a replacement card?
For a replacement Pennsylvania Boater Education Certificate, print, fill out, and mail in the Application for a Permanent Boating Safety Education Certificate Card (PDF download) from the http://www.fish.state.pa.us website.
How do I get my state boating license?
You may have heard that you need the Pennsylvania Boat License to operate your boat, but what you really need is the Pennsylvania Boater Education Certificate. You can get the Pennsylvania Boater Education Certificate by taking this Boat License Safety course at boat-ed.com. Find out if you need the card.
Did you lose your card? Replace it here.
Pennsylvania Fish & Boat Commission
1601 Elmerton Avenue, PO Box 67000
Harrisburg, PA 17106-7000