Who needs the Boater Education Card?
It’s the Law!
Boating safety education certificates are required of the following operators:
- Persons 12 through 15 years of age may operate a PWC provided the operator has completed a boating education course approved by Utah State Parks and Recreation, has in his or her possession the certificate issued by the course provider, and is under the direct supervision of a responsible person who is at least 18 years old.
- Persons 16 through 17 years of age may operate a PWC provided the operator has completed a boating education course approved by Utah State Parks and Recreation and has in his or her possession the certificate issued by the course provider.
- Motorized boats and sailboats may be operated by a person under 16 years of age only if they are under the direct supervision of a responsible person who is at least 18 years old.
You Must Carry the Card
Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer.
All states that have mandatory boater education requirements will accept the Utah Boater Education Card. Likewise, Utah will accept boating education cards that are issued by states that meet NASBLA requirements.
Is the Boating Card the same as a Boating License?
The Utah Boater Education Card is proof that you have successfully completed an approved boating safety course. Since the boater education card does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called the Utah Boating License.
I do not have a driver’s license. Can I still get the Utah Boater Education Card?
Yes. You are not required to have a state driver’s license in order to obtain a Boater Education Card.
How do I get a card?
Get your card in 3 easy steps.
Complete the Course
Step One: Register for the course, study the free online course material, and pass the Utah boating license final exam. (If you don’t pass on the first try, don’t worry. Keep taking the exam for free until you pass.)
Print Temporary Certificate
Step Two: After passing and paying the $34.50 course fee, you’ll instantly print out a temporary certificate, which is your temporary operating permit to operate legally on Utah waters while you wait for your permanent card to arrive.
Get on the Water!
Step Three: Your Utah Boater Education Card will arrive in the mail in 7-10 business days. While waiting, your temporary certificate (the Boating Safety Education Certificate) you printed in Step Two will serve as your proof to legally operate on Utah waters.
How do I get a replacement card?
For a replacement Utah Boating Safety Education Certificate, call the Utah State Parks at 801-538-7246 and request a duplicate card.
Alternatively, you can print, fill out, and mail in the Utah Boating Education Replacement Certificate Form (PDF download) from the Utah State Parks website.
How do I get my state boating license?
You may have heard that you need the Utah Boat License to operate your boat, but what you really need is the Boating Safety Education Certificate. You can get the Boating Safety Education Certificate by taking this Boat License Safety course at boat-ed.com. Find out if you need the card.
Did you lose your card? Replace it here.
Utah State Parks
1594 W North Temple # 116
Salt Lake City, UT 84116