Utah’s Boater Safety Education Program
Utah joins more than 40 states with educational requirements for operating a boat or PWC on state waters.
By completing and passing this Utah–approved online boating license course, you will have satisfied the educational requirement for Utah.
Pay Only When You Pass
unlimited exam attempts
It’s the Law!
Get Safe. Get Certified.
Who Needs the Card?
Boating safety education certificates are required of the following operators:
- Persons 12 through 15 years of age may operate a PWC provided the operator has completed a boating education course approved by Utah State Parks and Recreation, has in his or her possession the certificate issued by the course provider, and is under the direct supervision of a responsible person who is at least 18 years old.
- Persons 16 through 17 years of age may operate a PWC provided the operator has completed a boating education course approved by Utah State Parks and Recreation and has in his or her possession the certificate issued by the course provider.
- Motorized boats and sailboats may be operated by a person under 16 years of age only if they are under the direct supervision of a responsible person who is at least 18 years old.
The minimum age to take the online boating safety education exam is 12 years old.
Motorized boats (other than PWCs) and sailboats may be operated by those 16 years old or older without restrictions. Those under 16 may operate if under the onboard and direct supervision of a responsible person who is at least 18 years old.
Personal watercraft may be operated by a person 18 years old or older without education or supervision requirements. Various education and supervision restrictions apply to those under age 18.
Good in U.S. States
All states that have mandatory boater education requirements will accept a Boating Safety Education Certificate. Likewise, Utah will accept boating education cards that are issued by states that meet NASBLA requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
Utah law enforcement officers patrol the waterways to make your boating experience safe and pleasant. Cooperate with them by following the laws and guidelines.
Carry the Card Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer.
Penalty Not carrying your Boater Education Card when one is required can result in a fine.
For More Information
For details about the boater education law, who is exempt from the education requirement, which courses are approved, the Final Exam, and the application for the Boater Education Card, visit http://stateparks.utah.gov.
How do I get my state boating license?
You may have heard that you need the Utah Boat License to operate your boat, but what you really need is the Boating Safety Education Certificate. You can get the Boating Safety Education Certificate by taking this Boat License Safety course at boat-ed.com. Find out if you need the card.
Did you lose your card? Replace it here.
Utah State Parks
1594 W North Temple # 116
Salt Lake City, UT 84116