Who needs the Boater Education Card?
It’s the Law!
All persons born after January 1, 1974, must have successfully completed an approved boating safety education course to legally operate any motorized vessel (this includes personal watercraft).
You Must Carry the Card
Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer.
All states that have mandatory boater education requirements will accept the Vermont Boater Education Card. Likewise Vermont will accept boating education cards that are issued by states that meet NASBLA requirements.
Is the Boating Card the same as a Boating License?
The Vermont Boater Education Card is proof that you have successfully completed an approved boating safety course. Since the boater education card does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called the Vermont Boating License.
I do not have a driver’s license. Can I still get the Vermont Boater Education Card?
Yes. You are not required to have a state driver’s license in order to obtain a Boater Education Card.
How do I get a card?
Get your card in 3 easy steps.
Complete the Course
Step One Register for the course, study the free online course material, and pass the Vermont boating license final exam. (If you don’t pass on the first try, don’t worry. Keep taking the exam for free until you pass.)
This Vermont Boating Course is open to Vermont residents only.
Print Temporary Certificate
Step Two After passing and paying the $29.50 course fee, you’ll instantly print out a temporary certificate, which is your temporary operating permit to operate legally on Vermont waters while you wait for your permanent card to arrive.
Get on the Water!
Step Three Your Vermont Boater Education Card will arrive in the mail in 2-3 weeks. While waiting, your temporary certificate (the Boating Safety Education Certificate ) you printed in Step Two will serve as your proof to legally operate on Vermont waters.
How do I get a replacement card?
For students who have passed the Boat Vermont online course, a duplicate card may be requested online from the Vermont State Police’s (VSP) at Replacement Certification Card page. To receive the card by mail, call the VSP at 1-802-872-4048.
How do I get my state boating license?
You may have heard that you need the Vermont Boat License to operate your boat, but what you really need is the Vermont Boating Safety Education Certification Card. You can get the Vermont Boating Safety Education Certification Card by taking this Boat License Safety course at boat-ed.com. Find out if you need the card.
Did you lose your card? Replace it here.
Got the Card? Get the Handbook
The Handbook of Vermont Boating Laws and Responsibilities, developed for Vermont State Police and available online only at boat-ed.com
For New and Experienced Vermont Boaters
Vermont State Police
2777 St. George Road
Williston, VT 05495