The Washington boater education card (also referred to as the Washington Boaters License) is proof that a boater has demonstrated basic boating knowledge by passing an approved boating education course and exam.
No one may operate or permit the operation of a power-driven vessel with an engine that is 15 horsepower or more, including a personal watercraft, unless the operator is at least 12 years of age if the vessel is not a personal watercraft or is at least 14 years of age if the vessel is a personal watercraft and ... the person has in his or her possession a boater education card (if required) or ... is accompanied by and is under the direct supervision of a person at least 16 years of age who has a boater education card or who is not yet required to have the card.
The minimum age to take the online boating safety exam is 12 years old.
The online Certification Exam costs $29.50. The lifetime Washington boater education card is an additional $10.00 state fee and $0.50 processing fee.
Your Washington boater education card will be mailed to your home within 6 weeks after you pass the exam.
Upon passing the exam, you may immediately print out a temporary Certificate of Course Completion valid for 60 days.
A duplicate can be issued, if the student took (and passed) the Boat Washington online course, for a $5 service charge. To obtain a duplicate Washington card, see the Washington State Parks Getting a Boater Education Card web page.
Any exemptions from the mandatory boater's license requirement are explained in detail in the course material on the Who May Operate a Vessel page.
Washington's boating safety education requirements and laws about operating a boat or PWC are explained in detail in Unit 4 of the Boat Ed Washington course content.