About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Boat Washington Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Washington Boater Education Card.

Learn More Register for the Course

Washington Boating Accident Report Form

The operator of a vessel involved in a boating accident or the owner of the vessel reporting for the operator must complete and submit a written boating accident report if:

  • A person dies or disappears from the vessel under circumstances that indicate death or injury or …
  • A person is injured and requires medical treatment beyond first aid or …
  • Damage to the vessel(s) or other property exceeds $2,000 or there is complete loss of a vessel.

The boating accident report must be submitted to the law enforcement agency that has jurisdiction where the accident occurred within the following timeframes.

  • Within 48 hours of the accident if:
    • A person dies within 24 hours of the accident or …
    • A person is injured and requires medical treatment beyond first aid or …
    • A person disappears from a vessel.
  • Within 10 days for all other accidents.

Accident report forms are available from the Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission, and the marine unit of local law enforcement agencies.

Additional information and the boating accident report form are available online at: www.parks.wa.gov/456/Vessel-Accidents.