About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Alaska Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Alaska Boater Education Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

Alaska law establishes the following penalties for boating while intoxicated (BWI).

BWI Enforcement
  • Upon a first conviction, the person will be subject to a fine of at least $1,500 and imprisonment for at least 72 hours.
  • Upon a second conviction, the person will be subject to a fine of at least $3,000 and imprisonment for at least 20 days.
  • Upon a third or subsequent conviction, the person will be subject to a fine of at least $4,000 and imprisonment for at least 60 days.
  • In addition to the penalties above, a person convicted of boating while intoxicated may lose his or her driver’s license for at least 30 days and have his or her vessel forfeited.