The Boater's Guide of Arizona: A Handbook of Boating Laws and Responsibilities
The Official Boating Handbook of the Arizona Game and Fish Department - Web Version
Table of Contents
Arizona is a non-title state.
Vessel registration is staggered, similar to motor vehicle registration. The color and date on the registration decals indicate when the registration expires.
The application for transfer of ownership must be made within 15 days of purchase.
If you change your address, you must notify the Arizona Game and Fish Department (AZGFD) within 15 days either in writing or online at: www.azgfd.gov/watercraft.
If you purchase a numbered vessel or if your watercraft is sold, stolen, lost, destroyed, or abandoned, you must report it to the AZGFD within 15 days.
If you lose or destroy your Certificate of Number or decal, you must apply to the AZGFD for a duplicate.
Vessels registered in another state or country may operate on Arizona waters for 90 consecutive days before Arizona registration and numbering are required.
Larger recreational vessels owned by U.S. citizens may (at the option of the owner) be documented by the U.S. Coast Guard. Call the USCG at 1-800-799-8362 for more information.
Vessel Registration Fees
An annual registration fee is required for each motorized vessel, including those with electric motors. The fees are as follows.
|Length of Watercraft||Registration Fee|
|0 to 12 ft.||$20.00|
|12 ft. 1 in. to 16 ft.||$22.00|
|16 ft. 1 in. to 20 ft.||$30.00|
|20 ft. 1 in. to 26 ft.||$35.00|
|26 ft. 1 in. to 39 ft.||$39.00|
|39 ft. 1 in. to 64 ft.||$44.00|
|64 ft. 1 in. and over||$66.00|
|Length of Watercraft||Registration Fee||*NBSIF Fee||Total|
|0 to 12 ft.||$20.00||$80.00||$100.00|
|12 ft. 1 in. to 16 ft.||$22.00||$88.00||$110.00|
|16 ft. 1 in. to 20 ft.||$30.00||$192.00||$222.00|
|20 ft. 1 in. to 26 ft.||$35.00||$224.00||$259.00|
|26 ft. 1 in. to 39 ft.||$39.00||$253.00||$292.00|
|39 ft. 1 in. to 64 ft.||$44.00||$286.00||$330.00|
|64 ft. 1 in. and over||$66.00||$429.00||$495.00|
|Duplicate Certificate of Number||$2.00|
|Late Registration Penalty||$5.00|
The listed fees are valid as of October 2013, and they are subject to change at any time. To see the most current fees, go to http://www.azgfd.gov/outdoor_recreation/WatercraftRegistration.shtml.
*Beginning August 2012, a portion of the fees formerly assessed to non-residents for watercraft registration will be designated the Arizona “Boating Safety Infrastructure Fee.” Creating an “infrastructure fee” will not increase or affect the cost of registering a watercraft in Arizona. Boating Safety Infrastructure fees will be used for boating safety law enforcement and emergency response and to fund improvements to public launch ramps, public piers, restrooms, parking areas, picnic areas, campgrounds and other like facilities.