The Boater's Guide of Arizona: A Handbook of Boating Laws and Responsibilities
The Official Boating Handbook of the Arizona Game and Fish Department - Web Version
Table of Contents
Arizona law prohibits anyone from operating a power-driven vessel while under the influence of alcohol or any drug that causes the person to be even slightly impaired. Alcohol and drugs cause impaired balance, blurred vision, poor coordination, impaired judgment, and slower reaction times. Alcohol contributes to about one-third of all fatal boating accidents nationwide. The state of Arizona’s operating under the influence (OUI) law mirrors the state’s vehicular driving under the influence (DUI) laws and penalties. Here is the OUI law.
- A person is considered to be operating under the influence of alcohol if he or she has blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% but less than 0.15% as determined by a test of his or her breath, blood, or urine. “Extreme OUI” is a BAC of 0.15% but less than 0.20%, and “Super Extreme OUI” is a BAC of 0.20% and higher.
- If convicted of “OUI,” a person can be fined up to $1,450 and jailed for up to 10 days.
- If convicted of “Extreme OUI,” a person can be fined up to $2,700 and jailed for up to 30 days.
- If convicted of “Super Extreme OUI,” a person can be fined up to $3,150 and jailed for up to 45 days.
- Subsequent convictions and if convicted of “Aggravated OUI,” persons are subject to even more severe penalties.
- By operating a vessel on Arizona waters, you have consented to be tested for alcohol or drugs if arrested by a law enforcement officer for alleged violations under Arizona boating while intoxicated law.