The Boater's Guide of Arizona: A Handbook of Boating Laws and Responsibilities
The Official Boating Handbook of the Arizona Game and Fish Department - Web Version
Table of Contents
An operator involved in a boating accident must:
- Stop his or her vessel immediately at the scene of the accident and…
- Give assistance to anyone injured or minimize any danger caused by the accident unless doing so would seriously endanger his or her vessel or passengers and…
- Give his or her name, address, and the identifying number of his or her vessel to anyone injured in the accident and to the owner of any damaged property.
Vessel operators involved in an accident must send a boating accident report directly to: Arizona Game and Fish Department, Attn: Boating Law Administrator, 5000 W. Carefree Highway, Phoenix, AZ 85086.
- The operator must report the accident in writing to the Arizona Game and Fish Department within 48 hours if a person is injured or dies.
- The operator must report the accident in writing to the Arizona Game and Fish Department within five days if damage to the vessel and/or other property exceeds $500.
Boating accident report forms are available from law enforcement personnel at the lakes, first-aid stations, marinas, or ranger stations, or from the Arizona Game and Fish Department.