The Boater's Guide of Arizona: A Handbook of Boating Laws and Responsibilities
The Official Boating Handbook of the Arizona Game and Fish Department - Web Version
Table of Contents
Each person on board a PWC must wear a U.S. Coast Guard–approved wearable personal flotation device (PFD). They must be worn according to the manufacturer’s design and recommended use. All closures must be fastened and adjusted for a snug fit.
An operator of a PWC equipped with a lanyard-type engine cut-off switch must attach the lanyard to his or her person, clothing, or PFD.
It is illegal to operate a PWC between sunset and sunrise or during periods of restricted visibility unless the PWC is equipped with the proper navigation lights.
PWC must be operated in a careful and responsible manner. It is considered reckless operation if a PWC operator commits two or more of the following acts simultaneously:
- Operating within 60 feet of another vessel above a wakeless speed.
- Operating within the vicinity of a vessel in a manner that obstructs the visibility of either operator.
- Heading into the wake of a vessel that is within 60 feet and causing half or more of the length of the personal watercraft to leave the water.
- Operating within 60 feet of another vessel, maneuvering quickly, turning sharply, or swerving unless the maneuver is necessary to avoid a collision.
A PWC may not be loaded with passengers and gear beyond the safe carrying capacity recommended by the PWC manufacturer.