About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Arkansas Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Arkansas Boating Safety Education Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

Officer testing for sobriety
By operating a motorboat or other vessel on Arkansas waters, you have given “implied” consent to alcohol testing if an officer has reasonable cause to believe you are boating while intoxicated. Refusal to be tested can result in the loss of operating and driving privileges for up to six months.

By Arkansas law, a BWI is considered to be the same as a DWI. Multiple violations of either will result in additional penalties. Violations occurring in other states may also be considered penalties.

Arkansas law establishes the following penalties for boating while intoxicated.

  • Upon a first conviction, a person may be fined up to $1,000, jailed for up to one year, or both. Public service may be required instead of jail time. Also, he or she will lose the privilege of operating any motorboat or driving a vehicle for six months, and/or an ignition interlock device must be installed on the vehicle to use a restricted driver's license.
  • Upon a second conviction within a five-year period, a person may be fined up to $3,000, jailed for up to one year, or both. Public service of no less than 30 days may be required instead of jail time. Also, he or she will lose the privilege of operating any motorboat or driving a vehicle for two years. An ignition interlock device may also be installed on the vehicle and a restricted driver's license issued.
  • Upon a third conviction within a five-year period, a person may be fined up to $5,000, jailed for not less than 90 days and up to one year, or both. Public service of no less than 90 days may be required instead of jail time. Also, he or she will lose the privilege of operating any motorboat or driving any vehicle for 2.5 years. An ignition interlock device may also be installed on the vehicle and a restricted driver's license issued.
  • Upon a fourth or subsequent offense within five years, a person may be jailed for one to six years. Public service of one to six years may be required instead of jail time. Boating and driver's licenses also will be revoked for four years, during which no restricted permits may be issued.
  • In addition to the penalties above, a person convicted of boating or driving while intoxicated will be required to complete, at his or her own expense, an alcohol education program approved by the Arkansas Highway Safety Program or an alcoholism treatment program approved by the Division of Behavioral Health Services.
  • Being convicted of operating a motorboat or motor vehicle while your operating privileges are suspended will result in a mandatory 10-day jail sentence and a fine of no more than $1,000.
  • More severe penalties exist if the operator is involved in an accident that results in death or serious injury, as well as if a passenger under age 16 was present at the time of the violation.