Do I need a driver’s license to drive a boat?

Wondering if you need a driver’s license to operate a boat? The short answer: No. But that doesn’t mean there aren’t other requirements and rules you need to follow!

Restrictions on Age

Each state has their own set of age restrictions. For example, in Texas, you must be at least 13 years old and successfully pass a Texas Parks and Wildlife Department-approved boater education course (like Boat Ed). In Florida, same deal, except you must be at least 14 years old. If you have a young’un, be sure to check with your state agency before hitting the water.

Carry It With You

Like a driver’s license, it’s required that you carry your Boater Education Card with you while operating your vessel, just in case an enforcement officer needs to inspect it. Trust me, you don’t want to be caught cruising without your card!

Be Responsible

In the same way that your driver’s license can be suspended, your boating privileges can also be revoked if you’re found to be boating irresponsibly. Some boating offenses include failure to report an accident and boating while intoxicated. Check the laws in your area before you hit the water.

Do you need your boater education card? It’s just a click away. Sign up today and start learning for free!

One comment

  1. Boating rules on the water should be taken seriously! We cant count how many times we seen reckless boaters out on the water that seemed they never even read the handbook.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *