Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission has partnered with Boat Ed to offer the nation’s first approved defensive boating course — the Florida Safe Boating Course for Violators. Have questions about the course? We have answers for you!
Who is considered a “violator”?
In Florida, anyone convicted of a criminal boating violation or an infraction that results in a reportable boating accident is required to take the Florida Safe Boating Course for Violators, in addition to a state-approved classroom or online boating safety course.
Anyone convicted of two non-criminal infractions within a 12-month period is required to take a state-approved safe boater education course. The online Boat Florida Course satisfies this requirement.
See more information on Florida’s Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission’s website.
Which course do I have to take?
Depending on the type of violation or infraction, there are two courses that may be required:
- A NASBLA- and Florida-approved boating safety education course
- The four-hour Florida Violator course, available online only from Boat Ed
If you’re convicted of two non-criminal infractions within a 12-month period, you need to take only the NASBLA- and Florida-approved boating safety course available at Boat Ed.
For those convicted of either a criminal boating violation or an infraction that results in a reportable boating accident, you need to take the boating safety course and the Florida Violator Course.
How much does the Violator Course cost?
The course, exam, and certificate are $49.95, and you receive your completion results instantly!
Can I still operate a boat if I haven’t passed the required courses?
Nope! Until you successfully complete the courses and send proof to the FWC, your boating privileges are suspended.
Do I need proof of completion?
Yes. When it comes to the Florida Violator Course, Boat Ed sends proof of completion to the FWC electronically. For the state-approved Florida boating safety course, it’s your responsibility to send a certificate of completion within 90 days to:
Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission
Division of Law Enforcement
Boating and Waterways Section
620 South Meridian St.
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1600
Do you need to take the Violator Course? Sign up here.
Non-criminal infractions? Then you are eligible to take the Boat Florida course.