Official California Boating Safety Course Online
Take this California–approved course to complete your online Boating safety education.
pay only when you pass, unlimited exam attempts
Get Boating certified in 3 steps.
Study and pass the $29.50 course.
Print your online course completion document.
Get ready to go boating!
Do you need California Boating education?
California does not require boating education. You can take this course to save on insurance or to boat in states that require a card.
California Division of Boating and Waterways Requirements
There is no minimum age requirement to take this online course.
You do not have to be a resident of California to take this online course.
What To Expect From Boat Ed
Live‐Action, High‐Definition Videos
Our course videos feature a combination of professional educators (who double as professional actors), entertaining storylines, and up‐to‐date scenarios that give you one of the most effective ways to learn safe boating practices.
Comprehensive Instruction in California Boating Safety Education
This official training program is developed to meet the standards for Boating safety education established by California. Boat Ed is the only safety course provider that develops print materials on behalf of government agencies responsible for Boating laws and regulations.
As a course provider approved by California Division of Boating and Waterways, the California Boat Ed Course covers everything a new boater may need to know in order to be safe in California while boating.Sign Up For Free →
Learn Your Way on Any Device
Boat Ed offers the only online Boating education courses that are fully mobile-friendly from start to finish. This safety course is designed to work on your smartphone, tablet, laptop, or desktop computer.
You may complete the course at your own pace. The course can be completed in one sitting or a little at a time over several days. Log in and out at any time, and we'll keep track of your progress. Most students finish the course in a few hours.
We’re people, not robots.
Our customer service team, made up of real people with real Boat Ed experience, is here to provide assistance through all channels—phone, email, and chat.
8:30 a.m. to midnight CST Monday–Friday
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. CST Saturday & Sunday
Get help seven days a week from professionals like Bill, Diana, Heidi, Laura, Lilibeth, Liz, Marc, Nichole, and Thomas.
California Division of Boating and Waterways
1 Capitol Mall, Suite 500
Sacramento, CA 95814
Made in the U.S.A.
This safety course is proudly made in Dallas, Texas, U.S.A., and our servers and data storage facilities are located within the U.S.A.
Is it the Boating safety license?
The boater education certificate in California is often called a “boating license.” While the certificate is often called a California boating license, the certification does not expire and does not need to be renewed.
Do you need a license to drive a boat in California?
California boating requirements currently do not include a boating license. However, starting January 1, 2018, Senate Bill 941 will require California boaters to obtain a California Vessel Operator Card (CVOC). The CVOC requirement will be phased in over 8 years.
- January 1, 2018: Persons 20 years of age or younger
- January 1, 2019: Persons 25 years of age or younger
- January 1, 2020: Persons 35 years of age or younger
- January 1, 2021: Persons 40 years of age or younger
- January 1, 2022: Persons 45 years of age or younger
- January 1, 2023: Persons 50 years of age or younger
- January 1, 2024: Persons 60 years of age or younger
- January 1, 2025: All persons regardless of age
Need help? Here are the answers to the questions California Boating students most frequently ask.Frequently Asked Questions