About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Colorado Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Colorado Boating Safety Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

Officer testing for sobriety

The penalty for a first conviction of boating under the influence is mandatory jail time of at least 5 days, not to exceed 180 days. A fine of $100 to $1,000 also may be added by the court but is not mandatory. The convicted person also will lose operating privileges for three months.

By operating a vessel on Colorado waters, you have given "implied" consent to alcohol testing if directed by an arresting officer having reasonable grounds to believe that you are boating under the influence. Refusal to submit to alcohol testing will be admissible into evidence at trial.