Penalties for Boating Under the Influence
Delaware law establishes the following penalties for those convicted of operating under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs:
- Fines of up to $1,000 and imprisoned for up to 6 months for a first offense
- Fines of up to $2,000 and imprisoned for up to 18 months for a second offense
- Fines of up to $3,000 and imprisoned for up to two years for a third offense
If under 17 years of age, the individual will be fined an additional amount and be required to complete up to 80 hours of public service.
By operating any vessel on Delaware waters, you have consented to be tested for the presence of alcohol and/or drugs if requested by a peace officer. Persons refusing to submit to testing will be prohibited from operating on Delaware waters for one year.