The Florida Boaters Guide: A Handbook of Boating Laws and Responsibilities
The Official Boating Handbook of the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission - Web Version
Table of Contents
- A Certificate of Title proves ownership. All vessels are required to have a Certificate of Title except:
- Non-motorized vessels less than 16 feet in length
- Non-motorized canoe, kayak, racing shell, or rowing scull, regardless of length
- Vessels used exclusively on private lakes and ponds
- Vessels documented with the U.S. Coast Guard (USCG)
- A Certificate of Registration is valid for one or two years. For vessels owned by:
- An individual: The registration will expire on the last day of the month that is prior to the owner's birth month.
- More than one person: The registration will expire at midnight on the date of birth of the vessel owner whose name appears first on the registration.
- A company, corporation, government entity, boat dealer, or manufacturer: The registration is valid for only one year and will expire on June 30.
- The owner of a registered vessel must notify the county tax collector within 30 days if he or she changes address.
- The owner of a registered vessel must notify the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles within 30 days if the vessel is sold, stolen, destroyed, abandoned, or lost.
- If your vessel has a current and valid registration or certificate of number from another U.S. state or territory, you may operate it in Florida for 90 days before you are required to register it in Florida.
- Larger recreational vessels, owned by U.S. citizens, may (at the option of the owner) be documented by the USCG. Call the USCG at 1-800-799-8362 for more information. Documented vessels operating on Florida waters must have a current vessel registration either from Florida or another state.