The Florida Boaters Guide: A Handbook of Boating Laws and Responsibilities
The Official Boating Handbook of the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission - Web Version
Table of Contents
Everyone on board or being towed behind a PWC must wear a U.S. Coast Guard–approved Type I, II, III, or V PFD at all times. Inflatable PFDs are not to be worn on PWC.
An operator of a PWC equipped with a lanyard-type engine cut-off switch must attach the lanyard to his or her person, clothing, or PFD.
PWC may not be operated during the hours between one half-hour after sunset to one half-hour before sunrise. Due to navigation light requirements, PWC without navigation lights may operate only between sunrise and sunset.
No one under the age of 14 years may operate any PWC.
No one under the age of 18 years may rent or lease a PWC.
A PWC must be operated in a reasonable and prudent manner. It is illegal to:
- Weave your PWC through congested waterway traffic.
- Swerve at the last possible moment in order to avoid collision (as in spraying another person or vessel, or playing "chicken").
- Jump the wake of another vessel unreasonably or unnecessarily close to that vessel or when visibility is obstructed.