Penalties for Boating Under the Influence
Florida law establishes the following penalties.
- Those convicted of operating under the influence of alcohol or drugs will:
- Be fined up to $500 and imprisoned for up to six months for a first conviction.
- Be fined up to $1,000 and imprisoned for up to nine months for a second conviction.
- Be fined up to $2,500 and imprisoned for up to one year for a third conviction.
- If involved in a boating accident causing property damage, injury, or death while boating under the influence, the operator has committed a felony.
- By operating any vessel on Florida waters, you have consented to be tested for the presence of alcohol, drugs, or other intoxicating substances if requested by a peace officer. Refusal to submit to testing is punishable by a civil penalty of $500 and is also a crime if you have ever been fined for a previous refusal.
Any person who is convicted of BUI can be fined up to $5,000 and be sentenced to one year in jail if he or she had a blood alcohol or breath alcohol concentration of 0.15 or higher or was accompanied in the vessel by a person under 18 years of age at the time of the offense.