About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Florida Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Florida Boating Safety Education I.D. Card.

Learn More Register for the Course

Florida law has special provisions for operators under 21 years of age.

  • It is unlawful for a person under 21 years of age who has any measurable blood alcohol concentration (0.02 or higher) to operate a vessel.
  • If convicted, those under 21 years of age will be required to complete 50 hours of public service, as well as attend and successfully complete an approved classroom or online boater education course (even if one has been completed previously), and successfully complete a four-hour online course specifically for violators. The convicted person will lose his or her operating privilege until all requirements are completed.
  • A person under 21 years of age who refuses to submit to a breath test after a warning will be subject to performing 50 hours of public service and may not operate a vessel until the public service is completed.