The Handbook of Georgia Boating Laws and Responsibilities
The Official Boating Handbook of the Department of Natural Resources Law Enforcement Division - Web Version
Table of Contents
Persons less than 12 years of age may not legally operate a PWC.
Persons 12 to 15 years of age may legally operate a PWC only if they:
- Have passed a boating safety course approved by the Department of Natural Resources or…
- Are accompanied by a competent adult.
Persons 16 years of age or older may operate a PWC on the waters of Georgia if he or she has proper identification on board.
Beginning on July 1, 2014, any person born after January 1, 1998, and operating a PWC on Georgia waters must meet:
- The above requirements and…
- The mandatory education requirement as explained on Who May Operate a Boat.
“Competent adult” means a person of age 18 or older who is not under the influence of alcohol or drugs and who is carrying proper identification.
“Proper identification” means a driver’s license (or legible copy) or any other government-issued identification that contains a description of the person, a photograph, and date of birth.