The Handbook of Idaho Boating Laws and Responsibilities
The Official Boating Handbook of the Idaho State Parks and Recreation - Web Version
Table of Contents
Idaho law prohibits anyone from operating or being in actual physical control of any vessel while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or other intoxicating substances. Alcohol and drugs cause impaired balance, blurred vision, poor coordination, impaired judgment, and slower reaction times.
Idaho law states that a person is considered to be “under the influence” if he or she:
- Is 21 years of age or older and has a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or higher or …
- Is under 21 years of age and has a blood alcohol concentration of 0.02% or higher.
Idaho law establishes the following penalties:
- Those convicted of operating under the influence of alcohol or drugs may:
- Receive a maximum fine of $1,000 and/or a sentence of six months in the county jail and …
- Be required to attend and successfully complete a course on safe boating and …
- Lose their privileges to operate a vessel for up to two years.
- A person causing great bodily harm, permanent disability, or permanent disfigurement to another person while operating under the influence of alcohol or drugs is guilty of a felony and will:
- Be sentenced to the State Board of Corrections for up to five years, with a minimum of 30 days, and …
- Be fined up to $5,000 and …
- Have his or her privileges to operate a vessel suspended for a minimum of one year, not to exceed two years, after release from prison.
By operating a vessel on Idaho waters, you have consented to be tested for the presence of alcohol, drugs, or other intoxicating substances if requested by a peace officer. Any person refusing to submit to testing for the presence of alcohol, drugs, or other intoxicating substances will be assessed a civil penalty of $200.