The Handbook of Idaho Boating Laws and Responsibilities
The Official Boating Handbook of the Idaho State Parks and Recreation - Web Version
Table of Contents
|PWC||Boat Less Than 16 Ft.||Boat 16 Ft. To Less Than 26 Ft.||Human Powered: Any Length|
|Certificate of Registration On Board||✓||✓||✓|
|Validation Stickers Displayed||✓||✓||✓|
|PFDs: Type I, II, or III||✓1||✓2||✓2||✓2|
|PFD: Type IV||✓|
|Type B-I Fire Extinguisher||✓||✓||✓|
|Backfire Flame Arrestor||✓||✓3||✓3|
|Horn, Whistle, or Bell||✓||✓||✓||✓|
|Daytime Visual Distress Signals||✓4|
|Nighttime Visual Distress Signals||5||✓4||✓4|
- Each person riding on or being towed behind a PWC must wear a USCG–approved life jacket at all times.
- Those 14 years of age or younger must wear an approved PFD at all times when underway in a vessel 19 feet or less in length.
- Required on inboard and stern drives only.
- Required on federally controlled waters. Visit www.boatidaho.gov for the list of federally controlled waters in Idaho.
- It is illegal to operate a PWC between sunset and sunrise or during periods of restricted visibility (such as fog), unless the PWC comes equipped by the manufacturer with the required navigation lights.
- At least one lantern or flashlight between the hours of sunset and sunrise.
Visit My Boat at http://www.boatidaho.gov for an electronic version of the complete list of requirements.