The Handbook of Illinois Boating Laws and Responsibilities
The Official Boating Handbook of the Illinois Department of Natural Resources - Web Version
Table of Contents
All vessels must have at least one U.S. Coast Guard (USCG)–approved wearable personal flotation device (PFD), sometimes called a life jacket, for each person on board or being towed. All vessels 16 feet or longer, except canoes and kayaks, also must carry one USCG–approved throwable PFD.
All children under the age of 13 must wear a PFD on vessels less than 26 feet in length when underway, unless they are below decks in an enclosed cabin or or on a vessel operating on private property.
A personal watercraft or a specialty prop-craft may not be operated unless each person on board is wearing a USCG–approved PFD. (Inflatable PFDs are not approved for PWC or prop-craft use.)
Besides being USCG–approved, all PFDs must be:
- In good and serviceable condition.
- Readily accessible, which means you are able to put the PFD on quickly in an emergency.
- Of the proper size for the intended wearer. Sizing for PFDs is based on body weight and chest size.
- Legibly marked with the USCG approval number.