Penalties for Operating Under the Influence
By operating a motorboat or PWC on Indiana waters, you have consented to be tested for alcohol or drugs if requested by a law enforcement official. If you refuse to be tested, you will be subject to arrest and punishment consistent with the penalties described above and lose your privilege to operate a motorboat or PWC for at least one year.
Indiana law establishes the following penalties.
- If you are arrested and convicted of boating while intoxicated, you will face the penalties of a Class C misdemeanor. In addition, if this is your first offense or the first in 10 years, you may lose all your driving privileges (motorboat and motor vehicle) for at least 90 days and up to two years.
- For a second conviction within five years, you may be fined and jailed and lose the privilege to operate a vehicle, motorboat, or PWC for one to two years. More severe penalties exist for additional convictions.
- A person boating while intoxicated who causes the death or serious injury of another person will, upon conviction, be guilty of a felony.