About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Boat Indiana Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Indiana Boater Education Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

Indiana law requires the following with respect to personal flotation devices (life jackets).

Fitting a pfd to a child
  • All vessels must carry one wearable (Type I, II, III, or V) USCG–approved PFD for each person on board or being towed.
  • In addition to the above requirement, vessels 16 feet in length or longer (except a canoe or kayak) must have one Type IV USCG–approved PFD on board and readily accessible.
  • All PFDs must be in good and serviceable condition and be readily accessible. The PFDs must be of the proper size for the intended wearer. Sizing for PFDs is based on body weight and chest size.
  • Each person on board a personal watercraft must wear a PFD.
  • All persons being towed behind a PWC on water skis or any other device must wear a USCG–approved PFD. Ski belts are not USCG–approved.
  • In addition to the requirements above, on Waters of Concurrent Jurisdiction:
    • A child under 13 years of age must wear a PFD except when the child is below deck in an enclosed cabin or the vessel is docked or at anchor.
    • Anyone towed on water skis, a surfboard, a kite, or similar device must wear a Type I, II, or III PFD (Type V PFDs are not approved for these activities).