Do you need Iowa Boating education?
You need education if you are 12 to 17 years old and will be operating a motorized vessel over 10 hp or a PWC in Iowa.
You must be at least 12 years old to take this online course.
You do not have to be a resident of Iowa to take this online course.
Boating education is currently required in several U.S. states and Canadian provinces.
Iowa law enforcement officers patrol the waterways to make your boating experience safe and pleasant. Cooperate with them by following the laws and guidelines.
Carry the Card: Vessel operators who are required to have a Boater Education Card must carry the card on board the vessel and have it available for inspection by an enforcement officer.
Penalty: Not carrying your Boater Education Card when one is required can result in a fine.
Is the Boating Card the same as the Boating License?
The Iowa Boater Education Certificate is proof that you have successfully completed all of the components of an approved Boating safety course and allows you to go boating. Because the Boating education card or certificate does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called the Iowa Boating License.
Even if not required by law to get the Iowa boating education card, many boaters take the boat safety course in order to save on their PWC or boat insurance.
Do your part to make boating in Iowa an enjoyable pastime! Become an educated, responsible boater by completing the Boat Iowa course, and practice what you learn.
For visiting boaters, all states, territories, and provinces will recognize boating education cards that meet NASBLA requirements and Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Cards that meet Transport Canada’s requirements. (This is known as “reciprocity.”)
Iowa Department of Natural Resources
502 E. 9th Street
Des Moines, IA 50319-0034
Need help? Here are the answers to the questions Iowa Boating students most frequently ask.Frequently Asked Questions