About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Iowa Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Iowa Boater Education Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

Teenager being instructed in how to operate a boat

The law establishes special requirements for younger boaters.

  • A person under 12 years of age may operate a vessel propelled by a motor of more than 10 horsepower, including a personal watercraft, only if he or she is accompanied on board by a responsible person who is at least 18 years old and experienced in operating the vessel.
  • A person 12 years of age or older but younger than 18 years of age may operate a vessel propelled by a motor of more than 10 horsepower, including a personal watercraft, only if he or she:
    • Has successfully completed a boater education course approved by the Iowa Department of Natural Resources or ...
    • Is accompanied on board by a responsible person who is at least 18 years old and experienced in operating the vessel.