About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Kansas Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Kansas Boater Education Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

Kansas law designates the following dangerous operating practices as illegal.

PWC riding too close to a boat

Improper Speed or Distance is not maintaining a proper speed or distance while operating a vessel. Specifically, it is illegal to:

  • Operate a vessel at greater than “no wake speed” in any posted no wake zone or within 200 feet of any boat ramp, boat dock, boat storage, or concessionaire’s facilities.
  • Operate a vessel within 200 feet of any marked swimming area.
  • Cause damage or unnecessary inconvenience from the wake of your vessel.