About the Study Guide

You are looking at a preview of what’s in the timed Kansas Boat Ed Course. Feel free to look around, but you’ll need to register to begin progress toward getting your Kansas Boater Education Certificate.

Learn More Register for the Course

Officer testing for sobriety
Anyone who operates or attempts to operate a vessel is deemed to have given consent to an alcohol and/or drug test. Failure to submit to a test will result in the loss of boating privileges for three months and any other penalties prescribed by law, rule, or regulation.

Those convicted of operating under the influence (OUI) are subject to the following penalties.

  • The penalty for a first conviction of operating a vessel under the influence is imprisonment of no more than one year. A fine of $100 to $500 also may be added by the court. The penalty for a second or subsequent conviction is imprisonment of 90 days to one year and, at the court’s discretion, a fine of $100 to $500.
  • A person under the age of 21 who submits to a breath or blood alcohol test and produces a test result of an alcohol concentration of 0.02% or greater but less than 0.08% will have their boating privileges suspended for 30 days. After a second occurrence, their boating privileges will be suspended for 90 days.
  • In addition to other penalties, any person convicted of an alcohol violation will be required to complete a boater safety education course satisfactorily before operating any vessel.